Statement and Resolution on the Merger of the Rutgers Graduate School – New Brunswick and the Rutgers Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

## Adopted by the Camden Faculty Council January 2017

Rutgers University currently has four graduate schools of arts and sciences: the Graduate School - Camden, the Graduate School - New Brunswick, the Graduate School – Newark, and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (contained within Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences and operating in both New Brunswick and Newark). The Graduate School – New Brunswick and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences have proposed to merge. The University Senate approved the outlines of the merger at its meeting on January 20, 2017 and the proposal will in due course be considered formally by the central Rutgers administration and then by the Board of Governors.

The almost universal practice at Rutgers has been that, when the University has more than one school of the same general type, each of those schools has a name that distinguishes it from the others and no one of those schools simply bears an "unmarked" name. In some cases, the names of schools are distinguished by a campus designation, as with the Rutgers Business School – New Brunswick & Newark and the School of Business – Camden. In other instances, the University has named individual schools after benefactors or other distinguished persons.

This naming convention reflects important principles, particularly the identity of Rutgers as a multi-campus university and the parity of its four major academic units. It also demonstrates a commitment to comity and mutual respect among the diverse parts of this large and complex but unified academic community. Exceptions to this convention should require extraordinary justifications. For example, the School of Arts and Sciences on the New Brunswick campus can legitimately claim pride of place as the most direct successor to the very first academic unit founded in 1766 of what was eventually to become Rutgers University.

Nevertheless, the current plan is for the new school formed from the merger of the Graduate School – New Brunswick and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences to be called simply the "Rutgers School of Graduate Studies," thus essentially ignoring the existence of separate Rutgers graduate schools on the Camden and Newark campuses.

To some extent, the reluctance of the planners of the merger to adopt a more distinctive name is understandable. For example, naming the new school the Graduate School – New Brunswick and RBHS would admittedly be awkward and unhelpful. But those planners have also

resisted other alternatives, including naming the school after a person (not necessarily a donor) important to the history of graduate education at Rutgers.

We therefore *Resolve* that the Camden Faculty Council, without taking any position on the merits of the planned merger of the Graduate School – New Brunswick and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences,

1. Strongly objects to naming the new merged school the Rutgers School of Graduate Studies without any further denomination.

2. Calls on the university administration and the existing Graduate School–New Brunswick and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences to agree on and adopt a name for the merged unit that more accurately reflects that the new school will be only one among the three graduate schools at Rutgers.

3. Urges the Chancellor and Provost and other officers of Rutgers University – Camden to use their own good offices to help advance discussions toward satisfactorily resolving the question of the new school's name.

4. Directs its Chair to share this resolution with the President of the University, the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Chancellor and Provost of Rutgers University – Camden, the Dean of the Graduate School – Camden, the Deans of the Graduate School – New Brunswick and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and other appropriate officials of Rutgers University and Rutgers University – Camden.